PML-N’s Haider Sultan wins PP-20 Chakwal by-poll: unofficial results

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Haider Sultan has won the by-election in PP-20 Chakwal-I by bagging 75,655 votes, unofficial and unconfirmed results from all polling stations suggested late Tuesday.
Sultan was followed by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Tariq Afzal, who could secure 45,702 votes.
The Punjab Assembly seat fell vacant following the death of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) MPA Liaquat Ali Khan.
The by-election has been a test for the ruling party as the constituency has long been a PML-N stronghold and is expected to serve as a curtain-raiser for the general elections later this year.
Though this is Sultan’s first attempt at a provincial assembly seat, his family has held the PP-20 seat since 1985, losing it only once in the 2002 elections.
Meanwhile, PTI’s Afzal is contesting an MPA seat for the first time, but he is supported by the Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Awami Tehreek.
The constituency has a total of 279,530 registered voters, for whom 227 polling stations were set up.
Speaking to media earlier, DPO Haroon Joya said that over 1,200 police personnel were deployed for security duty, with officials of Rangers on standby.
He added that 51 polling stations were declared sensitive.
Rangers and police have been deployed at the polling stations to ensure security.
Previously, the Election Commission of Pakistan had issued a notice to Sultan for violating the rules by holding a public gathering, despite the end of the election campaign.
After the victory PML-N leader Mayram Nawaz tweeted that once again people’s court had announced their verdict and expressed their confidence in PML-N.

We bow our heads in gratitude to Allah for bestowing yet another victory upon us & humbly thank the ppl of Chakwal for believing in SHER ?
— Maryam Nawaz Sharif (@MaryamNSharif) January 9, 2018

مسلم لیگ ن کے شیروں کو مبارک ھو ?? آپ کے ووٹ نے ساشزیوں، مہروں اور اداروں کے پیچھے چھپنے والوں کو شکست دی- الحمدُلّلہ !
— Maryam Nawaz Sharif (@MaryamNSharif) January 9, 2018
The seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N member provincial assembly Chaudhary Liaqat. The polling started at 8:00 am and continued till 5:00 without any break.