Peshawar Zalmi take on Multan Sultans in PSL opener tonight

Defending champions Peshawar Zalmi will take on debutants Multan Sultans as the third edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) kicks off tonight amid glitz and fireworks in Dubai.
Zalmi, captained by the fan-favourite Windies all-rounder Darren Sammy, picked up the PSL trophy last year after defeating Quetta Gladiators in front of an electric crowd at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium. The team has retained the essence of its winning lineup, with Dwayne Bravo’s addition a further boost to the squad.
The Yellow Storm, however, is without Shahid Afridi, whose departure to Karachi Kings has left the team without its most popular player.
Multan Sultans, the sixth team in the PSL, are making their debut in this tournament, captained by the ever-steady Shoaib Malik. Their lack of experience is likely to be offset by their balanced lineup, with their key foreign player none other than spin wizard Imran Tahir.
Here’s a look at the two teams and their key players:
Peshawar Zalmi
Head coach: Mohammad Akram
Captain: Darren Sammy
Squad: Darren Sammy (c), Tamim Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Andre Fletcher, Riki Wessels, Hammad Azam, Haris Sohail, Dwayne Bravo, Khushdil Shah, Umaid Asif, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Shabbir Rahman, Liam Dawson, Sameen Gul, Hasan Ali, Chris Jordan, Mohammad Asghar, Wahab Riaz
Multan Sultans
Head coach: Tom Moody
Captain: Shoaib Malik
Squad: Shoaib Malik (c), Ahmed Shehzad, Darren Bravo, Abdullah Shafique, Saif Badar, Nicholas Pooran, Kumar Sangakkara, Sohaib Maqsood, Kashif Bhatti, Shan Masood, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Abbas, Umar Siddiq, Ross Whiteley, Imran Tahir, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Hardus Viljoen