PTI contacts independent senators-elect from Balochistan

A delegation of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) will soon meet the newly elected independent senators who had revolted against the PML-N government in Balochistan two months back.
According to a statement on PTI’s official twitter account, party leader Jahangir Tareen held telephonic conversation with senator-elect Anwar ul Haq Kakar.
Tareen extended felicitations to the independent candidates who returned successful on Senate seats from the province.
A delegation of the party will soon hold a meeting with the independent senators-elect. The venue and time of the meeting are being finalized, the statement said.
The telephonic exchange and proposed meeting are being seen as efforts on part of PTI to woo the senators to join Imran Khan-led party.
Six independent candidates clinched six seats out of 11 from Balochistan in Saturday’s Senate election.
According to returning officer Mohammad Naeem Jaffar, independent candidates – Anwarul Haq Kakar, Ahmed Khan Khilji, Mir Sadiq Sanjrani, Khuda Babar Askani emerged victorious on general seats.
Sana Jamali (Independent) was elected on women’s seats, whereas Nasibullah Bazai (Independent) was elected on technocrats’ seats.
Khuda Mohammad Akram Dashti of National Party, Sardar Shafiq Tareen of PkMAP and Molvi Faiz Mohammad (JUI-F) were declared successful on general seats.
National Party’s Mir Tahir Bizenjo clinched technocrats’ seat and Abida Omer Dotani of PkMAP was elected on seat reserved for women.
Speaking to the media on Sunday, Anwarul Haq Kakar said the independent senators-elect were in touch with political parties.
He said they will take a consensus decision about whether or not they are joining any party, and that the decision will be in the best interest of the people of Balochistan.