Opposition-backed Sadiq Sanjrani elected as Senate chairman

Sadiq Sanjrani the opposition-backed candidate from Balochistan was appointed Senate chairman on Monday. Sanjrani who secured 57 out of a possible 103 votes was administered oath by presiding officer Sardar Yaqub Khan.
Sanjrani an independent had been backed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P). According to reports, Sanjrani also had the support of independent senators elected from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)
He was contesting for the post against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) candidate Raja Zafarul Haq who was backed by the National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), PML-Functional and Awami National Party.
The election for deputy chairman is now taking place between government-backed Usman Khan Kakar from PkMAP and PPPs Saleem Mandviwalla.
Despite backing Sanjrani, the MQM-P had announced that it would not vote for Mandviwalla.
Earlier on Monday, 51 newly-elected Senators took oath by presiding officer Senator Sardar Yaqub Khan when the Senate session began a little after 10am. Ishaq Dar could not take oath as he is in London on medical grounds.