Cabinet committee formed for reviewing names of people on ECL

A cabinet committee to review names of the people on the Exit Control List (ECL) was formed on Wednesday.
The decision was taken during a meeting of the federal cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.
Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal, while addressing the media in Islamabad earlier today has said that the names of 600 people who were placed on the Exit Control List (ECL) have been sent to the cabinet.
“These people were placed on ECL in August 2016,” said the interior minister.
Sources confirmed that the name of deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif is on the exit control list prepared by the Ministry of Interior.
The committee will be chaired by the Minister for Law and Justice Chaudhry Mahmood Bashir Virk. Minister for States and Frontier Regions Abdul Qadir Baloch and Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) on Law, Barrister Zafarullah Khan will be part of the committee.
The committee will propose the rules for the addition and removal of the names on the ECL, which will later be reviewed and approved by the federal cabinet.