Saad Rafique challenges Imran Khan’s victory in Lahore’s NA-131 constituency

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Khawaja Sadd Rafique on Thursday challenged the victory of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan in Lahore’s NA-131 constituency.
Rafique submitted a petition in this regard to Returning Officer (RO) Muhammad Akhtar Bhango.
The plea maintained that the presiding officer rejected hundreds of votes deliberately. The former Railways Minister has demanded a recount in the constituency as PTI chief won by a close margin.
In a major upset on Wednesday, Khan thrashed PML-N’s strong candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique in NA-131 while clean sweeping four other constituencies.
According to unofficial election results, Imran Khan obtained 84,313 votes in a nail-biting contest against Saad Rafique who secured 83,633 votes.
Khan clinched the victory with a lead of 680 votes.
While official results were yet to be announced by the electoral commission, the PTI party is leading in early election results, winning 114 of the 272 seats in the National Assembly.
On the other hand, Aleem Khan of PTI has also filed a petition for vote ecounting in PP-162. The plea says that hundreds of votes were rejected intentionally. Yasin Sohal of PML-N has garnered victory from the constituency.