MQM-P, PTI sign agreement for government formation

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Friday signed a memorandum of understanding for the formation of a new government in the centre.
The two parties reached the agreement following a meeting at Bani Gala residence of PTI chief Imran Khan.
The agreement was signed by MQM-P’s Faisal Sabzwari and PTI leader Arif Alvi. It said that recommendations of Council of Common Interest (CCI) on Karachi population census would be implemented.
The PTI will favour a petition filed in the Supreme Court with regard to local bodies system in Sindh, the MoU read.
The agreement also urged for review of Karachi operation and consultation with all the stake-holders, besides meritorious appointments on all posts.
Sources earlier informed that the MQM-P assured PTI of support in the centre after meeting with party chief Imran Khan in Bani Gala.
The MQM-P and PTI leaders are expected to address a press conference shortly regarding the developments discussed in the meeting.
The delegation of the MQM-P met Imran Khan today (Friday) holding successful talks with party leader Jahangir Khan Tareen.
Accompanied by PTI leader Imran Ismail, the delegation had left Karachi for Islamabad earlier today to hold talks with PTI leaders about forming a government at the centre.
Party convener Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, who is leading the MQM-P delegation, presented his party’s demands to Tareen in exchange for joining the treasury benches with PTI, sources informed.
After successful conclusion of the first round of talks with PTI leaders Arif Alvi and Tareen, the delegation is now holding an important meeting with Imran at his residence in Bani Gala.
The MQM-P team includes Amir Khan, Faisal Subzwari, Waseem Akhtar, and Kunwar Naveed Jamil while the PTI’s side include Imran, Tareen and Shah Mehmood Qureshi.