PPP’s Agha Siraj Durrani takes oath as Sindh Assembly Speaker

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Agha Siraj Durrani on Wednesday has taken oath as speaker of Sindh Assembly on Wednesday.
Durrani obtained 96 votes and declared victorious against opposition’s Javed Hanif who secured 56 votes. 158 out of 168 members of provincial assembly exercised their voting right.
However, the name of deputy speaker is yet to be announced.
Sindh assembly had commenced its session during which polling to select speaker and deputy speaker was started. The MPAs confidentially voted their favorite candidate.
PPP had nominated Mushtaq Ahmed Ghani for slot of speaker and Rehana Leghari for position of deputy speaker.
Names of Javed Hanif and abia Azfar Nizami were given for the aforementioned positions respectively by the opposition.