Punjab Assembly to elect new CM today

The Punjab Assembly will elect the provincial chief minister today.
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has nominated Sardar Usman Buzdar for the slot of Punjab chief minister, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has fielded Hamza Shehbaz for the province’s most coveted post.
The new Punjab CM will be elected at a session scheduled for 11am.
PTI dominates Punjab Assembly with 179 seats, whereas PML-N has 164 seats in the house.
Prime Minister Imran Khan earlier reposed his confidence in Buzdar for the post of CM Punjab via a video message. Explaining his decision, the PTI chief said that Buzdar hailed from the most impoverished area of Punjab and he had decided on him as the party’s candidate after due diligence.