Pakistan cricket team to donate Rs3.2 mn in dams fund

Captain of Pakistan Cricket Team, Sarfraz Ahmad on Monday has announced a donation of Rs3.2 million from entire squad for the construction of Diamer Bhasha and Mohmand dams and also urged nation to contribute to dams’ fund.
While talking to media at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, he said that players who are part of Asia Cup squad will donate 0.2 million each towards dams’ project.
Captains also requested people and players of national team to understand the sensitivity of the this issue and to pool in for the dams’ construction.
Moreover, captain also expressed hopes to win Asia Cup and said “We are fully prepared for the tournament, as far as match against India is concerned, we will give out best. Matches against India are always a big game, but we are ready for it,” he was quoted as saying by the Business Recorder. “Momentum is the key and we have high moral and hope that we will perform our best in the upcoming tournament.
“The ICC Champions Trophy final against India is done and dusted; We won it then. It has been over one-and-a-half years, so now it will be a new game. We will try to play better cricket,” he said.
Earlier, umpire Aleem Dar had also announced that he is going to contribute $10,000 to the dams fund project.
It is pertinent here to mention that Pakistan cricket team’s 16-member squad will depart today for Dubai to participate in the Asia Cup 2018.
The tournament will begin on September 15 in Hong Kong and will conclude on September 28.
Pakistan will play a group match against a qualifier on September 16 and against India on September 19.
Asia Cup 2018 will feature India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan while the sixth team will be determined via a playoff that includes UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal, Singapore, Malaysia and Oman.
Pakistan’s squad includes
Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain), Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Imam ul Haq, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Asif Ali, Haris Sohai, Mohammad Nawaz, Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Usman Shinwari, Shaheen Afridi