Election Expenditures: ECP Serves Notices To PM, Others

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday has issued notices to 142 leaders including Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan for not fulfilling legal requirements regarding election expenditures.
The commission stated that the documents submitted by the members lacked name and contact number of the publishers while copies of the material printed for election campaign were also not attached.
Members are advised to reply within 7 days of the notice.
According to the list, the notices have been issued to 96 National Assembly (NA) and 46 provincial assemblies members.
According to the sources names of Chief Minister Punjab, Usman Buzdar, Information Minister Punjab, Fayazul Hasan Chohan, Khawaja Asif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Speaker Punjab Assembly, Pervez Illahi and others are included in the list.
Earlier on September 24, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said that the process of printing ballot papers for upcoming by-elections has been started.
The commission stated that the by-election in 37 constituencies will be held on October 14 on amended voters’ lists, which have been issued to the districts concerned.
It said that total registered voters in the country have now reached the figure of 106,000,239 with 59,243,889 male (55.89 percent) and 46,756,350 female (44.11 percent) voters.
The statistics of new amended electoral rolls shared by the ECP revealed that out of total registered voters, 60,697,418 were from Punjab, 22,394,212 voters from Sindh, 17,839,845 voters from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (including FATA), 4,302,304 voters from Balochistan and 766,460 voters from federal capital.
In Punjab, the male voters were 33,690,140 while female voters were 27,007,278. In Sindh the male voters were 12,438,375 while female voters were 9,955,837.
Similarly in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the male voters were 10,220,103 while the female voters were 7,619,742.
In Balochistan, the male voters were 2,487,470 while the female voters were 1,814,834 while in federal capital the male voters 407,801 and the female voters were 358,659.