PTI’s Shahzad won election for general Senate seat from Punjab

Pakistan Tahreek e Insaf’s candidate Shahzad Waseem has won election for a general Senate seat from Punjab today, by securing one hundred eighty one votes.
His opponent PML(N)’s candidate Khawaja Ahmad Hassaan got one hundred sixty nine votes while one vote got rejected in the electoral process, held at Punjab Assembly building in Lahore today.
Provincial Election Commissioner Punjab Zafar Iqbal conducted the polling process as the Presiding Officer.
The seat was vacated by Chaudhry Muhammmad Sarwar of PTI, who is now serving as Punjab Governor.
The polling process was held peacefully from 0900Hrs to 1600 Hrs today for which strict security measures were ensured inside and outside Assembly Building.